July 29th & 30th, 2017

Baltimore, Maryland


Day 1 Program
Saturday, July 29th Johnson AB, Hilton Baltimore
08:30 AM - 08:55 AM Check In/Registration (Coffee provided)
08:55 AM - 09:00 AM Welcoming Remarks
Leah J.Welty, PhD - Northwestern Univeristy, ACTStat President
09:00 AM - 10:15 AM Innovations in Clinical Trial Design I
“Individualized Treatment Effects Using a Non‐parametric Bayesian Approach,”
Ravi Varadhan, PhD and Nick Henderson, PhD (Johns Hopkins)

“Sequential, Multiple Assignment Randomized Trial (SMART) Designs,”
Kelley Kidwell, PhD (University of Michigan)
10:15 AM - 10:30 AM Break
10:30 AM - 11:45 AM Innovations in Clinical Trial Design II
“Leveraging Baseline Variables to Improve Precision and Power in Randomized Trials” Michael Rosenblum, PhD (Johns Hopkins)

“Causal Analysis of Pragmatic Trials,” Miguel Hernan, MD, DrPH (Harvard)
11:45 AM - 01:00 PM Lunch & Trial Design Break‐Out Sessions (Ruth)
01:00 PM - 02:30 PM Session: Leadership Development for Biostatisticians
“LEADER: An Acronymic Definition,”
Matthew S. Mayo, PhD, MBA, (University of Kansas Medical Center)

“How to Develop as a Leader in the Realm of Team Science,”
Heidi Spratt, PhD (University of Texas Medical Branch)
02:30 PM - 02:45 PM Break
02:45 PM - 03:30 PM Junior Faculty Award Presentation
“Handling Baseline Variables in the Design and Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials:
An Illustration of the Gap between Statistical Theory and Practice”

Jody Ciolino, PhD (Northwestern University)
03:30 PM - 05:00 PM ACTStat Annual Business Meeting
06:30 PM - 09:00 PM ACTStat Annual Networking Dinner,
Pratt Street Ale House, 206 West Pratt Street
Day 2 Program
Sunday, July 30th Key Ballroom 7, Hilton Baltimore
08:00 AM - 08:55 AM Breakfast, Networking, and Updates from Related Groups
8:10 Orientation and Introduction (Heidi Spratt)
8:15 BERD Special Interest Group (Bob Oster)
8:20 CTSA Consortium (Rickey Carter)
8:25 Cancer Center Shared Resources (Matthew Mayo)
8:30 ACTStat Open Mic
09:00 AM - 09:30 AM Student Award Presentation:
“BLAST: Bayesian Latent Subgroup Design for Basket Trials,” Yiyi
Chu, MS (The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston)
09:35 AM - 10:30 AM Keynote Address
"Opportunities and Challenges for Clinical Research with Electronic Health Records," Benjamin A. Goldstein, PhD (Duke University)
10:30 AM - 10:45 AM Break
10:45 AM - 11:10 AM Session:Software Tools
“StatTag: A Practical Approach to Reproducibility in Clinical and Translational Science,” Leah Welty, PhD (Northwestern University)
11:15 AM - 11:50 AM Interactive Session
“Data Science: Opportunity or Threat?” Rickey Carter, PhD (Mayo Clinic) and
Jonathan Mahnken, PhD (University of Kansas Medical Center)
11:50 AM - 11:55 AM Introduction of New Board of Directors
Matthew S. Mayo, ACTStat Immediate Past President
Leah J. Welty, ACTStat President
11:55 AM - 12:00 PM Closing Remarks
Rickey E. Carter, ACTStat President Elect